Posted by: darkdreamer | Sunday 12th January 2014

Dyeing for a KAL

When I heard the Ysolda Teague was running a mystery knit along a couple of weeks back I knew I just had to take part, but after rummaging through my stash I realized I didn’t have enough yarn for it. Oh dear it looked like I was going to have to go yarn shopping, what a shame, but rather then just buy a pre-dyed yarn I deiced to get something I could dye myself. I bought a 500g cone of white 100% wool 4ply yarn and wound off 200g and set up a immersion dye bath, I’m sure I’ll find a use for the 300g left over sometime in the future.

I was aiming for a light/pastel green but it didn’t turn out that way instead it came out a much brighter/bolder shade then I wanted. I decided to try and tone it down by over dyeing it with some red to tone down the green. I added the red dye bit by bit to a new immersion dye bath resulting in a variegated yarn in a more muted colours with I’m much happier with even if its nothing like what I had in mind when I started.

I’m looking forward to seeing how it knits up, I’ve made a swatch to get a idea but as I’ve no idea what the patterns like I won’t really know till I get going. Can’t wait till tomorrow when the first part of the pattern is released.

Responses

  1. I’ll look forward to seeing your project grow!

  2. […] I didn’t have enough yarn. When I went yarn shopping in the beginning of January for the MKAL I was taking part in I decided to pick up some yarn that I could use to finally complete […]

  3. […] finished my Mystery knit-along, well I actually completed it  last weekend (took pictures and everything), but I’ve only […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

