Posted by: darkdreamer | Monday 26th August 2013

Sew what…

The last few weeks I’ve been working on something new, I’ve borrowed my mum’s sewing machine and started to learn to sew and so far so good 🙂

Skirt

ZipIt’s not finished as yet, I’ve still got the scallop hem to sew and I’ve already realized I’ve made the wrong size, it’s too big for me, but I wasn’t expecting it to be any good. It’s actually better then I thought it would be and I was surprising easy, I did worry that this would be another failed attempt to learn to sew but I quite enjoyed making it. I’ll finish sewing the hem for the practice but I’m not worried that it won’t fit, I wasn’t expecting I’d be able to wear it, luckily I’ve still got enough material left to have another go but next time I’ll make a smaller size. The material was on sale so I’m not too bothered if I manage it make a wearable skirt (though that would be nice) but once I’ve got the hang of I plan to get some more material and make one (or a few) I can wear.

The pattern is the Meringue Skirt from the Colette Sewing Handbook, I wasn’t sure about the scallop hem at first but figured that as it was my first attempt at sewing that I should just stick to the pattern and maybe make changes at a later date but the scallops grew on me. Once I’ve done the hem I plan to have a go at Colette’s Sorbetto top before I have to give the sewing machine back to my mum.

Responses

  1. I love this, the bottom is really pretty, will look nice with a white blouse, Peter Pan collar! Keep up the good work!

  2. Well done. Looks good.

  3. […] defiantly will next time I can borrow my mum’s sewing machine, maybe I’ll even get the Meringue Skirt to […]

  4. […] the sewing machine so I didn’t get very far sewing, only managing a shirt that fit and a skirt that didn’t. Well not long before Christmas my Mum got a new sewing machine so I got her old one, though I […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

