Posted by: darkdreamer | Sunday 19th May 2013

Just In Time

This is my first post in over a month, the reason for this is because I’ve been working hard whenever I could to finish my Leeds Rhinos Rugby Scarf so I haven’t found the time to blog. It’s been worth it though because I managed to finish the scarf, and just in time too as the match is tomorrow.

Leeds Scarf Finished

As this scarf is of my own designed I had to find a cast off method that would suit it best, I pulled out my reference books and decided on the tubular cast off. Using this cast off method required me to split the stitches for the ‘front’ and ‘back’ of the scarf onto two separate needles (there isn’t really a front or a back to this scarf as it’s completely reversible but for this cast off using these terms for the two sides makes it easier to work). I was using the tubular cast off instructions from Wendy D. Johnson’s ‘Socks from the Toe Up’ a great book of sock patterns and institutions for knitting socks toe up.Leeds Scarf 2 In the method, after separating the sides they are grafted together using Kitchener stitch, I also over sewed the end to stiffen the edge slightly, this made this it easier to add the fringe. Can’t wait for the match 🙂

Responses

  1. It’s great to see the scarf finished, I’m glad you found a good cast off. So now the scarf’s done, what’s next on the needles?

    • Socks, lots of sock, don’t know why but I’m in the mood to knit socks. I also hope to start Celestarium soon.

  2. […] that been said here’s a post that I intend to write last week following on from my previous post and show you my sports scarf at the match on the 2oth […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

